2015: The Year in Review to Me

635862728117661192643887191_Gold_Transparent_2015

In merely 2 days, the year 2015 will be over and a branding spanking new 2016 will begin, which calls for a bit of reflection from all of us upon the past year. News organizations have released their “Year in Reviews:” which capture the highlights of 2015 in a few events, which has sparked me to draft my own.

According to ABC New’s “Year in Review” 2015 was a year of death and destruction that included events such as the Charlie Hebdo terrorist attacks, police brutality, prison escapes, and the Charleston Church Shooting. Understandably, ABC News followed the “If it bleeds it leads” journalistic practice.

Biography.com had slightly less depressing highlights that were much more interesting for me to read than to think about all the bad things that have happened this year. They focused on events like the United States Women’s National Soccer Team winning the World Cup, the royal delivery of Princess Charlotte Elizabeth Diana, and the U.S and Cuba restore relations.

You can access both ABC News and Biography.com Year in Review at the bottom of my post.

However, truly the year 2015 was neither simply good or bad, but lies somewhere in the middle between the positive and the negative. There were plenty of events that have inspired humanity in all of us this year, but also many that have been depressing. How we choose to remember 2015 is a collective effort, but also a much more personal remembrance than ABC News and Biography.com tend to let on.

For each person, 2015 should mean something differently. For many, 2015 marked a year of loss of friends, family, and loved ones. For others, it was the start of a new beginning at a new job, a new school, or simply just a much needed fresh new year. Each person should reflect upon their 2015 and compile a list of a few meaningful events of 2015 in preparation for what might come in 2016.

My 2015

2015 was the Year of Becoming a Tarheel

In late 2014, I was accepted to college from several different places, but I ultimately decided to attend Carolina. 2015 marked a new era for me, not only as a college student, but also as a brand new tarheel fan and Chapel Hill resident. After my first semester I learned a lot of lessons some of which extend beyond the classroom, and hopefully 2016 will make me a wiser adult, spender, and student.

2015 was the Year of Recovery for me

On August 29, 2014 I tore my ACL playing football which ended my senior season of football. While the end of 2014 kept me in a wheelchair or on crutches, the start of 2015 marked the beginning of my recovery in hopes of being able to play some baseball by the end of the spring. I had to wear braces, work hard, and exercise hard every day to regain the strength and stability in my knee. Eventually, after working hard, I was able to make it back and played the second half of the baseball season.

2015 was the Year of Graduation

To a high school Senior nothing is more important than finally graduating and getting out of highschool. While high school was fun, I am glad to be done with high school and moving on to bigger and better things beyond Lumberton North Carolina.

2015 was the Year of Anniversary

On April 1, 2014 I started dating Brittany Hubbard and April 1, 2015 marked one year dating. Whether she realizes it or not, I am lucky to have her in my life, and I can’t imagine what I would do without her. She definitely keeps me in line, puts up with my awful jokes, and keeps me around. I am very thankful for her. I love you Brittany.

IMG_6254 (1)

Brittany and I

What will 2016 be?

I have no idea what might be in store for me in 2016. I am glad to be starting a new year, with new opportunities and glad to see what the future has in store these next 366 days. Goodbye, 2015 and Cheers to the New Year. Bring it on, 2016. Happy New Year everyone!

bring_it_on_kuzco

ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/US/year-review-13-biggest-news-stories-2015/story?id=35852690

Biography: http://www.biography.com/news/top-headlines-2015-year-in-review

 

 

Leave a Reply

